Sponsored

How long it would take Diesel Engine MPG to pay for itself

Are you getting the Diesel for MPG or for the torque?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

biodiesel

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel
Does it really matter how long? I bought because I wanted it no other reason.
No, not really. I think some people try to justify their purchase. Interestingly, people will buy a new vehicle in 3 - 5 years and pay $3,500 - 4,500 just in taxes and not think anything about it. The real cost savings is using public transportation as much as possible, buying a motorcycle or fuel efficient car, or keeping a vehicle for 15+ years. That's where a real cost savings comes in.

I buy diesel because I love diesel vehicles.
Sponsored

Free2roam

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
Fabricator by trade/ Maintenance Mechanic
No, not really. I think some people try to justify their purchase. Interestingly, people will buy a new vehicle in 3 - 5 years and pay $3,500 - 4,500 just in taxes and not think anything about it. The real cost savings is using public transportation as much as possible, buying a motorcycle or fuel efficient car, or keeping a vehicle for 15+ years. That's where a real cost savings comes in.

I buy diesel because I love diesel vehicles.
I bought it because of the fuel mileage honestly. But the cost of it paying for itself or whatever ya wanna call it. Never even factored in. I'm happy with my choice. 3800 miles on it. 27 mpg so far average.

biodiesel

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel
I bought it because of the fuel mileage honestly. But the cost of it paying for itself or whatever ya wanna call it. Never even factored in. I'm happy with my choice. 3800 miles on it. 27 mpg so far average.
The range is nice. I do a lot of towing, so I added a 37 gallon tank to my Ram 1500 to increase that range.

qf4n8IV.jpg

wbU5PMy.jpg

CrazyCooter

First Name
Tony
Threads
Reaction score