Sponsored

Water fording depth - Update

dcmdon

First Name
Don
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I was taught many years ago that if you aren't willing to walk into it to check how deep it is, then its not worth crossing.

To a large degree I still think that's right. Though I have very little off road experience compared to many of you. It seems a reasonable thing to do. Better to get a bit wet than to destroy your truck.

Obviously if you can watch someone else go in first, its the best of all worlds. You learn how deep the water is and you stay dry.
Sponsored

Marine2947

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Military
On my 06 LJR, the differential vents were raised as others have said. I live in Houston, where we have flooding a lot, and so I really focus on fording capacity. I found that the transfer case vent was just sitting on top of the bell housing, so I raised it and the transmission vent to the top of the firewall. It made no sense to me that they raised the differential vents and not the TC vent.

0B65D6DB-39CC-4F1C-888A-155C679CC7F5.jpeg
Can you take a pic of where the vent for the transfer and transmission case are?

OP
OP
PyrPatriot

PyrPatriot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JT Sport S Max Tow; Honda Element
What I wondee is that the engineers for this vehicle put a lot of good thought into the off reading aspects. They intentionally raised the transmission vent tube and diff tube. If they could have raised transfer case tube, and it looks to be a very easy thing to do, why didn't they? Perhaps there is a limitation in the case design that requires the short factory tube?

Marine2947

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Military