Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S
Occupation
IT Manager
Hi,

I've seen comments about regearing from 3.73 to 4.10 -- I recently changed my tires on my Sport S to 285/70/17. The main purpose of my vehicle is an overland/camping vehicle along with my every day driver in the city, which is minimal as I work @ home.

Should I re-gear? Why or why not? I am a total noob when it comes to this 'stuff' so forgive my ignorance.
Sponsored

dakota.morgan91

First Name
Dakota
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
(ordered) 2021 Gladiator Willys
I can't think of a reason you would not want to aside from the cost of doing it, I mean 4.10's are not anything dramatic... I plan to re-gear myself but will most likely go 4.88 with 35's. One of the positives is having your jeep feel peppier or torquey with those taller tires.

JT1

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator Willys
Hi,

I've seen comments about regearing from 3.73 to 4.10 -- I recently changed my tires on my Sport S to 285/70/17. The main purpose of my vehicle is an overland/camping vehicle along with my every day driver in the city, which is minimal as I work @ home.

Should I re-gear? Why or why not? I am a total noob when it comes to this 'stuff' so forgive my ignorance.
That tiny gear change is not worth the $1500-2000 it will cost. That tire size won't strain anything.

IF you plan on going to 35's at some point, try it first and see if it's too sluggish. If it is, regear to 4.56.

KurtP

First Name
Kurt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
S/C Mojave
Occupation
Only Fans Content Creator
Yeah...id agree 4.1 isnt worth it. if youre trying to keep it mild, 35’s and 4.56. If you know youll never go any bigger than that 285 tire, 4.33...

$.02

Tufelhundin

First Name
Windsor
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JT Sport S “sold”, 2022 JTR
Occupation
Gov