Sponsored

Adding a winch to the plastic front bumper?

Slapping_Rabbits

First Name
Nirzwan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep gladiator Rubicon, triumph rocket iii roadster
I came across this:

https://www.rockhard4x4.com/product_p/rh-90205.htm

and was wondering if it would work for the stock bumper on my gladiator?

I thought it might save me a lot of money not buying a new bumper so i could get a better winch. What do you think? I've never done this before so excuse my ignorance if this is a really bad idea.
Sponsored

Rokon

First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator Rubicon
I don't think having the winch mounted that high is a very good idea. It's going to have real effects on airflow thru the radiator. A lot of work was done massaging the grill to improve flow to achieve enough cooling to support the towing capacity of the JT. Having the winch inside the bumper is the way to go.

Mr._Bill

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Overland - 2013 Nissan Leaf SV
Vehicle Showcase
I came across this:

I thought it might save me a lot of money not buying a new bumper so i could get a better winch. What do you think? I've never done this before so excuse my ignorance if this is a really bad idea.
Another option would be to add a front receiver and a receiver winch mount. It would put the winch out in front of the bumper. Curt 31086 and 31009.

hjdca

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Gladiator Rubicon manual Sting Gray
Build Thread
Link
I came across this:

I agree it is cheaper, but, there are major drawbacks which you already know --- radiator air flow, and it is not pretty (this is subjective). I went the Mopar steel bumper route but it is very expensive. Personally, I would go with an inexpensive aftermarket winch bumper before I would consider this. Another thought - The plastic bumper is junk anyway, why throw good money at it to make it acceptable when it never will be ?

Sponsored

Trippin01

First Name